Eek! Yes, I am still here.

I have been slacking on the updates, I know. Obviously, I jinxed myself in my past posts by commenting on how this blog keeps me accountable.

Truth be told, it’s difficult for me to focus on much during the holiday season. I have a big, wonderful family and we are all about celebrating all the special days to the fullest. So, I’ve been a bit distracted and my creativity has not been where I needed it to be in order to finish up this book.

I have mixed feelings about my hiatus. On one hand, I really would’ve liked to have finished my rough draft by the end of the year. On the other, I am glad I didn’t force it… when I am feeling uninspired, my writing reads less like an exciting fantasy epic and more like a bland encyclopedia entry.

Lesson learned and note taken: In the future, get everything done before October. Just to be on the safe side.

On the positive side of things, I did work through a few plot points that I wanted to straighten out, and I’ve made some revisions and edits to what I had already written. As far as word count progress goes, I’m back to chipping away at that. I’ve finally reached the estimated halfway point, and I feel that with a more stable path in mind for my characters and my story, the rest will come a bit easier and a bit quicker, now.

I plan to update my word count widget as I plow through these last chapters, but I am unsure of how frequently I will be making blog posts.

Somehow, I get the feeling that 100 entries of, “I wrote some more words and stuff,” might get a smidge dull after a while.

Until next time,

SJ

 

 

Leave a Reply

