Cover Me Excited!

First, let me sincerely apologize for the terrible wordplay in the title of this post. My brain is still struggling to get back to normal. On the bright side, I just got a happy little reminder of why I don’t really drink anymore. It can be fun, and I can handle it… but the older I get, the longer it takes me to recover and I am at the point in my life that it just rarely seems worth it.

I will say, in this particular circumstance… My sister’s party was totally worth it. She really goes all out for Halloween and it was great to see some of my creative contributions on display as well. Drank some beers, saw some family and old friends, played Cards Against Humanity… twas a great night! 🙂

Anywho, due to the party and the after effects, I haven’t written in a couple of days. The break had me bummed out, even though I had already planned to possibly take a day or two off following the party. I did have a long discussion with my SO about my plot, what I’ve done so far, what I plan to do for the rest of this book… character motivations and all that. I like to bounce ideas off of him and I wanted to be sure there isn’t some glaring plot hole that I failed to notice. I was relieved he gave me very positive feedback, and I already have a few parts I’m eager to improve. That’s always my goal when it comes to talking through my book stuff… nothing is ever perfect, expecially not this early on in the process. Positivity for encouragement, criticism for improvement. Works for me.

AND THEN, my “break days” got even better!

I heard back from a friend who did the cover for my SO’s novel (I am a fan of his artwork and we reached out to see if he might be interested in doing something for mine). AND HE IS GOING TO DO IT!

I am so thrilled! Although, I have to admit, I felt like a bit of an ass when he asked what I had in mind and I couldn’t articulate anything of substance. (Hungo brain, get your shit together!! *shakes fist angrily*)

Hopefully, my mind will be back to normal tomorrow. I can’t wait to lock down an idea and then see what he does with it. It’s going to be great!

SJ

Leave a Reply

