Halloween Crafts & Observations About the Writing Community

Alright so, I have to admit I do not have any progress on my book worth bragging about. At least, nothing tangible at the moment. Don’t get me wrong – I spend plenty of time each day spacing out as I think over my plot and characters and how they will react to certain situations (My friends and family would confirm… I space out A LOT)… BUT I haven’t actually written anything new since my last update. Shame on me, I know!

I have my own personal goals, though, for those days that I get caught up doing stuff like this:

image

I chose this stencil because pumkinception.

image

My S.I.L. and I went HAM on making creepy apothecary jars. (Inspired by this tutorial.)

image

These are candy coated Oreos that my mom and I made into fun little monsters! My sister brought them to work (the ones I didn’t eat, that is…)

We’re a crafty bunch! ANYHOW…

On those days where I feel my creativity reservoir has been drained, or that I am just too tired to write a coherent sentence… I try to research or learn one new thing about the writing process, or publishing process, or basically anything related to being an author. I figure, more information and knowledge about this stuff can only be a good thing, right? And trust me… There is a LOT to learn.

This brings me to the second part of this title. Being a new kid on the block, I have to just give a quick shout out to the writing community. I’ve joined several Facebook groups containing both self published and traditionally published authors and I have to say, these people are fantastic. It’s refreshing to be part of a community that is so welcoming of newcomers and happy to give advice and constructive criticism when requested. I highly recommend that any newbie authors like myself join a couple of FB groups for authors (you can find them by searching groups containing keywords related to your genre, or just browse general “author” groups.) Even if you just lurk and never make a single post or comment, you will have access to a wealth of information and advice from people who are at various stages of the writing process. It’s also SUCH A RELIEF to see someone ask a question that perhaps you were too shy to ask for fear that the answer was obvious.

I understand, being an unpublished newbie I am probably not in a position to be giving advice, but I’m going to give it anyway. Just a little tidbit that has helped my understanding of this side of the literary world, and at times has given me the confidence boost I needed to get back on that keyboard. Also, this is a “Thank You” to those experienced authors out there taking the time to help and advise the fresh meat. You are awesome!!

TTFN!

S.J.

Leave a Reply

